There hasn’t really been a whole lot that caught my attention as of late, and that’s a bit weird. Usually, any headline will catch my attention, but lately they’ve just been a bit… meh. When I saw the headlines about Ford’s newest Mustang though, I got excited, did my research, and here I am, writing about it.

I want to start though by being honest, and say that I’m partial to Chevy’s newest Camaro. I’ve always found the Mustang “cool”, but LS power always, always prevails. And, as for the 60’s Muscle cars, you just can’t beat a ’69 Z/28. Enough blabbering though, I think you get it; I really do like the Camaro more than the Mustang. I’m not going to be biased though, so I’ll go ahead and tell y’all, I really like this Mustang.

Really though, who wouldn’t like this?

Image

Pretty nice, eh? Worthy of the upcoming “50th Anniversary” nameplate if you ask me.

A lot of people are whining and saying “ohhh, it’s just a Fusion Coupe! Blah blah, I’m an idiot, blah blah!”, but even if it is.. Who cares? The Fusion isn’t exactly an ugly car. So as you can tell, I’ve got no complaints on the styling, it’s a much needed refresh in my opinion.

Engine Options

When the new Mustang comes out, there will be three engine options available.

  • Ford’s new 2.3 Liter EcoBoost Inline 4, offering 310 HP & 310 Ft-Lbs of twist.
  • The same 3.7 Liter V6 offered in the current car, which has 300 HP & 290 Ft-Lbs, and isn’t anything to write home about.
  • And last but not least – The 5.0 Liter V8 which now has 10 more HP, bumping it up to 430 HP & 396 Ft-Lbs of Torque.

Before I get into the exciting stuff, let me expand on what I just said a little bit. The V6 will be the base model vehicle’s power plant, and the EcoBoost Inline 4, and Coyote motors will be the “premium” option engines, if you will. I’m assuming the EcoBoost I4 is an option rather than the base because of the development cost, and Ford wanted there to be an “exclusivity” factor. Now, for the fun stuff!

It has been suggested that some time after launch, there could possibly be a return of the GT500 as well, with it’s 662 HP, 5.8 Liter Supercharged beast of a power plant, but I’m not so sure. I’ve heard other places that there will be no GT500, but instead, there will be another GT350 that will feature an all new, badass power plant called “Voodoo”. It’s told to be another V8, 5-5.5 liters in displacement, 550-600 HP of output, and it will achieve these figures by using Ford’s EcoBoost technology. That’s right, A Twin-Turbo V8 Mustang. Straight from the mothership itself.

HOT DIGGITY DAWG, THIS IS GUNNA BE GOOD. A 4 banger with nearly 135 HP per liter, the already wonderful 5.0 Coyote, and a Twin-Turbo V8? I can’t wait.

This is where it gets a tad strange.

The Transmissions offered are the same as the current model, a 6 speed auto, and a 6 speed manual. But a while after release, GM & Ford will implement a ten speed automatic they have been developing together. 

Last I checked, this was a Mustang, not a mountain bike. What would you possibly need TEN gears for? The gearbox will never make up it’s mind! I suppose it could just jump multiple gears at a time, going from first to third under hard acceleration for example, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and see what it is like. They’ve got me curious for sure.

And, she won’t be doing the truffle shuffle anymore.

On top of the new Pony car’s exciting power plant options, they have put her on a diet as well. I read back in August that Ford wanted to shave around 400 pounds off the car, but a newer article I read suggested that the figure was 200 pounds. I couldn’t find a definite answer, but soon enough we’ll know for sure. Either way, both those numbers sound pretty good to me.

Another thing about this new Mustang – it has fully independent rear suspension for the first time since the ’04 SVT Cobra! Hooray for cornering stability!

Also worth mentioning – there’s some new tech! Memory Seats that are heated & cooled will be offered, as well as a Heads Up Display, Lane Departure Warning, 20″ Wheels, and an “updated” MyFord Touch System. That last part though… I’m a bit skeptical. I HATED SYNC, and I thought the touch previous touch system was a bit laggy, and just stupid. Anyhow, don’t let such a minute thing ruin such an awesome car. Lastly, all this will be offered for a base price of just under $24,000. Doesn’t sound bad at all to me.

Let’s review, shall we.

  • Powerful Engines
  • Great Styling
  • Crazy Transmission in the works
  • Weight Loss
  • Better Suspension
  • Updated Tech/UI
  • $24K Base Price

I really can’t wait for this one. What do y’all think of it? Comment and tell me.

- Bailey

